Marriage Licenses in South Carolina
Question: How do we obtain a marriage license?
Answer: Both the prospective bride and groom must apply at the same time at a South Carolina County Courthouse Marriage License Bureau. Courthouses are usually open from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm weekdays only.
There is a 24-hour waiting period before the license can be picked up (by either the bride or the groom). When applying for the license, a fee, which may vary according to location, is collected. The Courthouse will accept CASH only; not a check or credit card. The fee is $70 in Charleston County.
As of June 2016, marriage licenses will no longer be issued to foreign nationals who are visiting the United States and wish to marry here, unless they have a US Social Security number or an Alien Identification number. As of September 2016, Georgetown County will still issue licenses to foreign nationals upon presentation of their passport or visa. Counties which will not issue a license without a Social Security number are Charleston, Berkeley and Dorchester counties. A birth certificate is not required. You do not need to be a resident of South Carolina OR the United States to marry in South Carolina., except in Myrtle Beach, which will not issue a marriage license to foreign nationals. Go to Georgetown counties. Remember, if you wish to get married on a Saturday, you will need to apply for your license on Thursday. You may also apply earlier, licenses don’t expire. Contact any South Carolina County Courthouse Marriage License Bureau for more information. You may obtain your license from any SC courthouse and use it in any other county.
Directions to Charleston County Courthouse:
The Marriage License Bureau is located at 100 Broad Street, Suite 469, in the Judicial Center. The phone number is 843-958-5183. For visitors to Charleston, this is near the intersection of Meeting and Broad streets, often called “The Four Corners of Law.” Take East Bay, Meeting Street or King Street south and you will intersect Broad Street.
If you are under 18 years of age, special rules apply. Call them for further information.
YOU MUST BRING YOUR MARRIAGE LICENSE TO THE WEDDING AND GIVE IT TO YOUR OFFICIANT PRIOR TO THE CEREMONY. WE CANNOT PERFORM THE CEREMONY WITHOUT IT.